Skip to main content

You are a group member!

Please login.

You must first login before joining this group.

Login or Make a Profile

NCDB Webinar: Developing and Implementing Action Research Studies in Deafblindness

Interveners and Qualified Personnel

Posted by Gail Leslie, 6 Mo. Ago

162 views

June 21, 2017
10am HAT - 11am AKT - 12pm PT - 1pm MT - 2pm CT - 3pm ET  (90 Minutes)


Description

Action research is a type of problem-solving research that is responsive to complex contexts, such as classrooms. Collaborative action research may involve entire teams, focused on addressing a question of interest. This presentation will introduce practitioners to the action research process, which involves: identifying a problem, forming a research question, determining and then implementing an intervention, collecting and analyzing data, changing the intervention in response to data (through additional action cycles), and dissemination. Resources will be provided that participants can use to build their knowledge and skills beyond the webinar. 

Presenter

Susan M. Bruce, Ph.D., is a Professor of Special Education at Boston College, Chair of the Department of Teacher Education, Special Education, Curriculum and Instruction, and Coordinator of the Master's Degree Program in Severe Disabilities, with an optional specialization in deafblindness. Susan’s research concentrations are in assessment, communication intervention for prelinguistic and early linguistic learners, and collaborative action research. 


Webinar Connection Information

Prior to the meeting:

Prior to the meeting, please run this meeting test and follow any instructions as needed.

On the day of the meeting:

  1. Please note: Recent updates have made it necessary for some people to try a different web browser than normal to access the Adobe Connect meeting room in the link below. If Internet Explorer or Safari does not work for you, then try Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox (if these programs or apps are installed on your computer). 
  2. In your web browser, connect using one of the following links: (1) http://hknc.adobeconnect.com/ncdb/ (2) alternative link
  3. Once on the Adobe Connect NCDB Webinars page: Choose the Guest option, type your name, and click the Enter Room button.
  4. Phone connection information will be posted in the room.

For details on participating by phone only, contact Robbin Bull. This meeting will be recorded and captioned. If you miss the meeting you can find the recorded materials in our archived webinars list.

Comments (0)

Please login.

You must first login before posting your comments here.

Login or Make a Profile

NCDB : The Research Institute : Western Oregon University : 345 N. Monmouth Ave. : Monmouth, OR 97361
Contact Us: 800-438-9376 | info@nationaldb.org

Tour This Page Website Help
Help for this page

Help Guides & Tutorials