Skip to main content
Default avatar image

You are a group member!

Please login.

You must first login before joining this group.

Login or Make a Profile

An Amazing Model of Communication Progress!

Family Engagement

My name is Susan M. Bashinski; I’ve been fortunate enough to know Jake and his mom, Dee, for nearly 10 years. Although I have interacted directly with Jake on only a limited number of occasions during these years, I have had frequent opportunities to ask questions about, and provide suggestions for, his communication programming.

I’m a teacher educator, who is primarily concerned with helping pre-service teachers learn skills for most effectively facilitating communication development with learners who experience complex communication needs. I’ve conducted research, written, and provided training about communication and language development for a long, long time.

From this perspective, I view Jake’s story as an amazing example of not only Jake’s family’s—but also, Jake’s own—persistence and commitment to his becoming a successful, versatile communicator!

I feel as though I’ve seen so many learners’ preschool / public school teams struggle with the debate between professionals who:
(1) believe communication programming should target only the level at which a learner is currently functioning (e.g., nonsymbolic or an object / topic board), and build “up” from that point—to see “how far a learner might progress,”
and those who:
(2) believe initial AAC intervention should aim very high and initiate communication programming with a dynamic, high-end, speech generating device (SGD)—and, if the team keeps working, “the learner’s skills will develop.”