NCDB Logo

You are a group member!

Please login.

You must first login before joining this group.

Login or Make a Profile

Grief Support for Families of Children with Deaf-Blindness

Family Engagement

Grief Support for Families of Children with Deaf-Blindness

Family Engagement

This page was last updated on Jun 11, 2018 at 11:49 am

474 views

Sensing Connections - Level 1: Peer-to-Peer Grief Support for Families of Children with Deaf-Blindness

These web-based, peer-to-peer meetings allow parents who have lost a child an opportunity to process their grief and learn coping strategies that have helped others. The meetings will be held on Wednesday evenings, twice per month, at 5:30 PT / 6:30 MT  /7:30 CT / 8:30 ET for 90 minutes. We ask interested parents to commit to the entire 5-month series (10 total meetings). Enrollment is free. All participants are sent a participant packet with descriptions of the topics that will be covered at each meeting and suggested resources.

If you are interested in joining this group, please contact: 

Or register online

Group Meeting Dates      

Topic                                                                               

Session 1 –  October 3
Welcome
Session 2 –  October 24
Weaving Through Grief
Session 3 –  November 7
Grieving as a Juggling Act
Session 4 –  November 21
“I Wish I Would Have…”
Session 5 – December 5
Safety and Grief
Session 6 – December 19
Internal and External Pressures
Session 7 –  January 9
Food, Fellowship, and Sharing
Session 8 – January 23
Impact of Loss on Your Health and Well-Being
Session 9 – February 6
Tribute Night
Session 10 – February 20
Pearls of Wisdom

Sensing Connections - Level 2: A Community of Families Celebrating their Loved Ones with Deaf-Blindness

These web-based, peer-to-peer meetings are intended for individuals who have completed the Level-1 sessions and want continued peer support. Meetings occur once a month on Wednesday evenings for 60 minutes. Group members can attend any meetings of interest to them, but unlike the Level-1 group meetings, are not asked to commit to all. Enrollment is free. Members share responsibility for determining discussion topics and assist in leading the meetings. Some meetings will feature guest speakers.

Additional Resources

For information about additional sources of support, see Resources for Grieving Families.

Download a flyer of the information on this page.  

Please login.

You must first login before posting your comments here.

Login or Make a Profile

0 Comments

NCDB : The Research Institute : Western Oregon University : 345 N. Monmouth Ave. : Monmouth, OR 97361
Contact Us: 800-438-9376 | info@nationaldb.org

Tour This Page Website Help
Help for this page

Help Guides & Tutorials