NCDB Logo

You are a group member!

Please login.

You must first login before joining this group.

Login or Make a Profile

Grief Support for Families of Children with Deaf-Blindness

Family Engagement

Grief Support for Families of Children with Deaf-Blindness

Family Engagement

This page was last updated on Jun 17, 2019 at 3:18 pm

667 views

Sensing Connections - Level 1: Peer-to-Peer Grief Support for Families of Children with Deaf-Blindness

These web-based, peer-to-peer meetings allow parents who have lost a child an opportunity to process their grief and learn coping strategies that have helped others. The meetings will be held on Wednesday evenings at 5:30 PT / 6:30 MT  /7:30 CT / 8:30 ET for 90 minutes. We ask interested parents to commit to the entire 6-month series (10 total meetings). Enrollment is free. All participants are sent a participant packet with descriptions of the topics that will be covered at each meeting and suggested resources.

If you are interested in joining this group, please contact: 

Or register online

Group Meeting Dates      

Topic                                                                               

Session 1 –  September 11, 2019
Welcome
Session 2 –  September 25, 2019 
Weaving Through Grief
Session 3 –  October 16, 2019
Grieving as a Juggling Act
Session 4 –  October 30, 2019“I Wish I Would Have…”
Session 5 – November 13, 2019
Safety and Grief
Session 6 – November 20, 2019
Internal and External Pressures
Session 7 –  December 11, 2019
Food, Fellowship, and Sharing
Session 8 – January 15, 2020
Impact of Loss on Your Health and Well-Being
Session 9 – February 5, 2020
Tribute Night
Session 10 – February 26, 2020
Pearls of Wisdom

Sensing Connections - Level 2: A Community of Families Celebrating their Loved Ones with Deaf-Blindness

These web-based, peer-to-peer meetings are intended for individuals who have completed the Level-1 sessions and want continued peer support. Meetings occur once a month on Wednesday evenings for 60 minutes. Group members can attend any meetings of interest to them, but unlike the Level-1 group meetings, are not asked to commit to all. Enrollment is free. Members share responsibility for determining discussion topics and assist in leading the meetings. Some meetings will feature guest speakers, journaling and/or review of books, as determined by the group. 

Additional Resources

For information about additional sources of support, see Resources for Grieving Families.

Download a flyer of the information on this page.   

Please login.

You must first login before posting your comments here.

Login or Make a Profile

0 Comments

NCDB : The Research Institute : Western Oregon University : 345 N. Monmouth Ave. : Monmouth, OR 97361
Contact Us: 800-438-9376 | info@nationaldb.org

Tour This Page Website Help
Help for this page

Help Guides & Tutorials